Site Specific Choreography

Business Casual

Triangular stair case in Harder Hall

Within this environment, I wanted to focus on movements which emphasized this notion of professionalism compared to playfulness. I had the dancers remember this idea of a pin like, professional shape as the performance carried out. There would be various movements where they break free of this flow, but I tried to get them to get back to this shape at various points. There was also this heavy usage of synchronized movements along with slightly differentiated ones which I wanted to tie into this idea of a unified professional unit, and this transition from those movements to other areas of the space. The moments of this wild movements I wanted a quick time and strong weight brought in that emphasized this notion of uncontrolled play.

Audience Framing: I made the decision to have the audience stand along the wall due to personal experiences within the space. When one would pass by in a staircase or hallway, they are usually not sitting down and just using the space to get to their destination, which is also something I wanted to carry into the performance. So I wanted the audience in a position where they could witness the dancers’ movements at eye level and still be in a safe position. My dancers areĀ Amanda Godsil, Angela Childs, Mandela Franciscono, Marc Widderman, Mia Bagnall, and Monet Harris.

 

Leave a comment